Manchester United Talk banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

· Registered
2,124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Fifa has announced the nominees for the title of Fifa World Player of the Year.

The 30-strong list, drawn up by football experts from the Technical and Development Committee and the Football Committee, includes four England stars - Steven Gerrard, Wayne Rooney, John Terry and Frank Lampard.

All nominees play for European clubs, and other English-based players on the list include Cristiano Ronaldo, Didier Drogba, Fernando Torres and Carlos Tevez.

Italy have the most players on the list with five nominees, followed by England and France with four each.

Barcelona have the most nominees of any club with seven players on the list, while Chelsea have five and Milan have four.

Captains and head coaches of the world's national sides will cast their votes before Fifa announce the top three at the beginning of December.

The overall winner will be revealed at the 17th Fifa World Player Gala at the Zurich Opera House on 17th December.

Fifa World Player of the Year 2007 nominees:

Gianluigi Buffon (Italy and Juventus), Fabio Cannavaro (Italy and Real Madrid), Petr Cech (Czech Republic and Chelsea), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal and Manchester United), Deco (Portugal and Barcelona), Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast and Chelsea), Michael Essien (Ghana and Chelsea), Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon and Barcelona), Gennaro Gattuso (Italy and Milan), Steven Gerrard (England and Liverpool), Thierry Henry (France and Barcelona), Juninho (Brazil and Lyon), Kaka (Brazil and Milan), Miroslav Klose (Germany and Bayern Munich), Philipp Lahm (Germany and Bayern Munich), Frank Lampard (England and Chelsea), Rafael Marquez (Mexico and Barcelona), Lionel Messi (Argentina and Barcelona), Alessandro Nesta (Italy and Milan), Andrea Pirlo (Italy and Milan), Franck Ribery (France and Bayern Munich), Juan Roman Riquelme (Argentina and Villarreal), Ronaldinho (Brazil and Barcelona), Wayne Rooney (England and Manchester United), John Terry (England and Chelsea), Carlos Tevez (Argentina and Manchester United), Lilian Thuram (France and Barcelona), Fernando Torres (Spain and Liverpool), Ruud van Nistelrooy (Holland and Real Madrid), Patrick Vieira (France and Internazionale).

i just want any utd player to win it
1 - 2 of 2 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.