No, it would be a yellow for intentionally handling the ball.moondog said:Right. So if the ref saw it - and the commentators on Setanta were pretty sure he did - it should have been a red card.
You can't give a red card for "denying an obivous goal scoring situation" when the advantage is played and the goal materialized.
Granted, I didn't see it, so I am only going by your re-cap, but to me it sounds like it should have just been a yellow on the player who prevented the goal.
To give the red card would have interfered with the spirit of the game, a la the Champions league final with Lehman. Had the referee waited the extra half-second and seen the ball played to another attacker to put the ball in, it is just a yellow with the goal being awarded.