Manchester United Talk banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,236 Posts
Credit to Green. He used one of the most precarious rules in football to his absolute advantage.

Green dived out towards the ball aswell as to his side which is illegal and hence the penalty should have been taken again.

It was a blatant decision.

However Referees hardly ever pull up Goalies for this offence. :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,236 Posts
^


you never cease to amaze me zuco ;)



The rule about the goal keepers coming off their line is not enforced at all except on occasions when a ref decides to enforce it and we all know what happened when a ref tried that in the last World Cup.
A penalty had to be retaken a few times, not sure how many :eek:


The FA have to either start punishing referees for not acting on this blatant and deliberate infringement or abolish the rule altogether in my humble opinion.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,236 Posts
-zuco- said:
It was Robert Pires that did the side pass, not Thierry Henry, blondes eh? :rolleyes:

Watch the famous cock-up here

Now here's how it should have been done:
I watched both of them on youtube last week......

In the Pires one it so damn funny.....LMAO

The crowd behind the goal are just motionless for like 5 seconds after he does it......:D

And then Pires' face afterwards is priceless....:D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,236 Posts
Red Devil said:
Did he actually save the pen? I thought Ronaldo hit it wide!
He made himself look big ;)


Seriously though he came outwards off his line which is a blatant foul while at the same time diving to his side...........By the FA rules the penalty should have been retaken........but the rule is rarely ever enforced.


So eh well done Robert Green I suppose ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,236 Posts
Red Devil said:
Then Green had nothing to do with the miss.
Au Contraire mon petit amie ;):eek::eek:


Green had a 100% penalty record this season, which I presume Ronaldo knew.

Other than that, WTF was going on inside that lads mind........:D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,236 Posts
akash_reds said:
no one can make himself look that big..maybe a sumo wrestler.....:p

then how do they dive......
they can if they are a foot or two off their line before he even takes the penalty and are jumping up and down ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,236 Posts
Red Devil said:
the keeper has to be ON the line.

Law 14 - The Penalty Kick

Procedure[/B]
  • the player taking the penalty kicks the ball forward
  • he does not play the ball a second time until it has touched another player



  • Just to come back to what Pires and Henry tried.

    If Henry had just collected the ball and put it in the net it was legal.

    So if Ronaldo gets a penalty he can touch the ball to the side, and then Rooney is entitled to run into the penalty box and put the ball into the back of the net.

    Why don't more teams exploit this rule? It is brilliant. :)


    Anyway very interesting RD, but how many Refs in England have ever pulled any players for any of the rules above, especially the one regarding the goalkeeper coming off of his line. !!

    Cheers mate, I would love to see a premier league team trying the penalty tactic which I pointed out above, because afterall "it's only a game" ;)
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top