Manchester United Talk banner
21 - 33 of 33 Posts
G

·
carlyluvsunited said:
Remember Thierry Henry's smart ass side pass to his team mate - who was totally unaware of the plan - the ball rolled maybe 4 feet and no one moved :eek:

Well done Terry 'Enry.......:rolleyes:
It was Robert Pires that did the side pass, not Thierry Henry, blondes eh? :rolleyes:

Watch the famous cock-up here

Now here's how it should have been done:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,236 Posts
-zuco- said:
It was Robert Pires that did the side pass, not Thierry Henry, blondes eh? :rolleyes:

Watch the famous cock-up here

Now here's how it should have been done:
I watched both of them on youtube last week......

In the Pires one it so damn funny.....LMAO

The crowd behind the goal are just motionless for like 5 seconds after he does it......:D

And then Pires' face afterwards is priceless....:D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Sorry but i don't like the attitude on here.
He did something no keeper has done this season. Keeping Ronaldo out from the spot and lets give the lad some credit and not act spoil sports!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,236 Posts
Red Devil said:
Did he actually save the pen? I thought Ronaldo hit it wide!
He made himself look big ;)


Seriously though he came outwards off his line which is a blatant foul while at the same time diving to his side...........By the FA rules the penalty should have been retaken........but the rule is rarely ever enforced.


So eh well done Robert Green I suppose ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,236 Posts
Red Devil said:
Then Green had nothing to do with the miss.
Au Contraire mon petit amie ;):eek::eek:


Green had a 100% penalty record this season, which I presume Ronaldo knew.

Other than that, WTF was going on inside that lads mind........:D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,236 Posts
akash_reds said:
no one can make himself look that big..maybe a sumo wrestler.....:p

then how do they dive......
they can if they are a foot or two off their line before he even takes the penalty and are jumping up and down ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,605 Posts
Keano4taoiseach said:
they can if they are a foot or two off their line before he even takes the penalty and are jumping up and down ;)
the keeper has to be ON the line.

Law 14 - The Penalty Kick

A penalty kick is awarded against a team that commits one of the ten offences for which a direct free kick is awarded, inside its own penalty area and while the ball is in play.

A goal may be scored directly from a penalty kick. Additional time is allowed for a penalty kick to be taken at the end of each half or at the end of periods of extra time.

Position of the Ball and the Players

The ball:

  • is placed on the penalty mark
The player taking the penalty kick:
  • is properly identified
The defending goalkeeper:
  • remains on his goal line, facing the kicker, between the goalposts until the ball has been kicked
The players other than the kicker are located:
  • inside the field of play
  • outside the penalty area
  • behind the penalty mark
  • at least 9.15 m (10 yds) from the penalty mark
The Referee
  • does not signal for a penalty kick to be taken until the players have taken up position in accordance with the Law
  • decides when a penalty kick has been completed
Procedure
  • the player taking the penalty kicks the ball forward
  • he does not play the ball a second time until it has touched another player
  • the ball is in play when it is kicked and moves forward
When a penalty kick is taken during the normal course of play, or time has been extended at half-time or full time to allow a penalty kick to be taken or retaken, a goal is awarded if, before passing between the goalposts and under the crossbar:
  • the ball touches either or both of the goalposts and/or the crossbar, and/or the goalkeeper
Infringements/Sanctions

If the referee gives the signal for a penalty kick to be taken and, before the ball is in play, one of the following situations occurs:

The player taking the penalty kick infringes the Laws of the Game:
  • the referee allows the kick to proceed
  • if the ball enters the goal, the kick is retaken
  • if the ball does not enter the goal, the referee stops play and restarts the match with an indirect free kick to the defending team, from the place where the infringement occurred.
The goalkeeper infringes the Laws of the Game:
  • the referee allows the kick to proceed
  • if the ball enters the goal, a goal is awarded
  • if the ball does not enter the goal, the kick is retaken.
A team-mate of the player taking the kick infringes the Laws of the Game:
  • the referee allows the kick to proceed
  • if the ball enters the goal, the kick is retaken
  • if the ball does not enter the goal, the referee stops play and restarts the match with an indirect free kick to the defending team, from the place where the infringement occurred.
A team-mate of the goalkeeper infringes the Laws of the Game:
  • the referee allows the kick to proceed
  • if the ball enters the goal, a goal is awarded
  • if the ball does not enter the goal, the kick is retaken
A player of both the defending team and the attacking team infringe the Laws of the Game:
  • the kick is retaken
If, after the penalty kick has been taken:
The kicker touches the ball a second time (except with his hands) before it has touched another player:
  • an indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team, the kick to be taken from the place where the infringement occurred
The kicker deliberately handles the ball before it has touched another player:
  • a direct free kick is awarded to the opposing team, the kick to be taken from the place where the infringement occurred
The ball is touched by an outside agent as it moves forward:
  • the kick is retaken
The ball rebounds into the field of play from the goalkeeper, the crossbar or the goalposts, and is then touched by an outside agent:
  • the referee stops play
  • play is restarted with a dropped ball at the place where it touched the outside agent
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,236 Posts
Red Devil said:
the keeper has to be ON the line.

Law 14 - The Penalty Kick

Procedure[/B]
  • the player taking the penalty kicks the ball forward
  • he does not play the ball a second time until it has touched another player



  • Just to come back to what Pires and Henry tried.

    If Henry had just collected the ball and put it in the net it was legal.

    So if Ronaldo gets a penalty he can touch the ball to the side, and then Rooney is entitled to run into the penalty box and put the ball into the back of the net.

    Why don't more teams exploit this rule? It is brilliant. :)


    Anyway very interesting RD, but how many Refs in England have ever pulled any players for any of the rules above, especially the one regarding the goalkeeper coming off of his line. !!

    Cheers mate, I would love to see a premier league team trying the penalty tactic which I pointed out above, because afterall "it's only a game" ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,605 Posts
Keano4taoiseach said:
Anyway very interesting RD, but how many Refs in England have ever pulled any players for any of the rules above, especially the one regarding the goalkeeper coming off of his line. ;)
I have seen a retaken pen a few times because the ref ordered it after a keeper moved forward.

Edit: but not recently
 
21 - 33 of 33 Posts
Top