Manchester United Talk banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Sir Alex Ferguson is 2008 World Manager Of The Year.
Ronaldo is 2008 World Soccer Player of the Year

% of votes

World Manager of the Year
1 Alex Ferguson
(Manchester United) 37.8
2 Luis Aragones
(Spain) 28.8
3 Dick Advocaat
(Zenit St Petersburg) 17.1

1 Cristiano Ronaldo
(Man Utd & Portugal) 48.4
2 Lionel Messi
(Barcelona & Argentina) 15.1
3 Fernando Torres
(Liverpool & Spain) 13.6

World Team of the Year
1 Spain 41.1
2 Man United 29.2
3 Zenit 9.1

Young Player of the Year
1 Lionel Messi
(Barcelona & Argentina) 44.2
2 Sergio Aguero
(Atletico & Argentina) 20.1
3 Karim Benzema
(Lyon & France) 10.2

Sir Alex Ferguson won the Manager of the Year award for a record fourth time, a clear winner ahead of Spain's Luis Aragones and Zenit's Dick Advocaat. Egypt's Hassan Shehata, one of the few African-born coaches to manage a team at the Nations Cup, finished fourth, while Guus Hiddink's achievements with Euro 2008 semi-finalists Russia was recognised with his fifth place.

Cristiano Ronaldo, star performer in Manchester United's Champions League triumph, is World Soccer's player of the year for 2008. The Portugual winger was the clear winner in the 27th annual poll, with Barcelona's Lionel Messi second and Fernando Torres of Liverpool in third place. Ronaldo is the first United player to win the individual prize, while last year's winner, Kaka, did not even make the top 10. Instead, five of the top 10 places are taken by members of Spain's victorious team at Euro 2008 – Torres, captain Iker Casillas, David Villa, Xavi Hernandez and Marcos Senna.

Spain triumphed in the Team of the Year catagory, ahead of Manchester United, UEFA Cup-winners Zenit and Libertadores Cup-winners LDU Quito.
African champions Egypt, who successfully defended their title last January, finished fifth and there was also recognition for the achievements of CFL Cluj, Hoffenheim and Anorthosis Famagusta.

Lionel Messi was the clear winner of the Young Player award, ahead of Atletico Madrid's Sergio Aguero and Lyon's Karim Benzema. Votes were cast from 45 different countries, again demonstrating the global nature of World Soccer's readership.

World Soccer editor, Gavin Hamilton, paid tribute to Ronaldo, Saying: “Congratulations to Cristiano Ronaldo, World Soccer's World player of the year for 2008. His elevation to the position of the world game's outstanding individual was hardly a surprise, but he deserves our applause nonetheless.''

Get in there SAF :) 4 times world manager of the year, managing the best team in the world, a real champion of champions
. :) :) :) :) :)


Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Great news, but where's this from? Can't find anything on the FIFA site, so I'm assuming it's not a FIFA award?

Edt: Just read the last paragraph, never mind :p
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.